Celebrating Trailblazers in Diversity and Inclusion!

This special event recognizes local individuals and organizations who not only hold diversity as a core value, they also “walk the talk” to make Austin a truly inclusive community.

Join us as we celebrate all the people that work tirelessly to bring diversity, equity and inclusion to our community!

A selection committee, made up of distinguished community leaders and influencers, have selected winners for seven categories. The 2019 finalists include:

Executive of the Year:

  • Raul Alvarez, Executive Director at Community Advancement Network

  • Heather Brunner, CEO & Chairwoman at WP Engine

  • Marcus Carey, Founder & CEO at Threatcare

  • Brian Reaves, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer at Dell, Inc.

  • Leslie Wingo, President & CEO at Sanders\Wingo

Diversity and Inclusion Leader of the Year:

  • Ruben Cantu, Executive Director of the Office of Inclusive Innovation and Entrepreneurship at The University of Texas at Austin

  • Virginia Cumberbatch, Director of the Community Engagement Center at The University of Texas at Austin

  • Clarissa Fuselier, Manager, Syndication Operations at Bazaarvoice

  • Christine Hoang, Writer & Producer at Color Arc Productions

  • Fatima Mann, Founder & Director at Community Advocacy and Healing Project

Program of the Year:

  • Hugh Forrest, Chief Programming Officer at SXSW

  • Gay Gaddis, Founder & CEO at T3

  • Dr. Stephanie Hawley, Associate Vice President at the Office of Equity and Inclusion at Austin Community College

  • Ashley Phillips, Managing Director at Impact Hub Austin

  • Llyas Salahund-Din, Director of Development at Make-A-Wish

Investor of the Year:

  • Sara Brand & Kerry Rupp, General Partners at True Wealth Ventures

  • Dan & Lisa Graham, Founders at Notley Ventures

  • Arlan Hamilton, Founder at Backstage Capital

  • Sylnovia Holt-Rabb, Assistant Director at City of Austin Economic Development Department

  • Amos Schwartzfarb, Managing Director at Techstars

Champion of the Year:

  • Steve Adler, Mayor at City of Austin

  • Sara Inés Calderón, Advisor at Women Who Code

  • Naji H. Kelley, Founder & CEO at BLNDED Media

  • Fatima Mann, Founder & Director at Community Advocacy and Healing Project

  • Rachelle Oribio, CEO & Founder at ValorUp, LLC

Rising Star of the Year:

  • Angelica Erazo, Diversity & Inclusion Coordinator at Oracle

  • Elizabeth Henneke, Executive Director at Lone Star Justice Alliance

  • Janice Omadeke, CEO at The Mentor Method

  • Rachelle Oribio, CEO & Founder at ValorUp, LLC

  • Cristina Tzintzún Ramirez, Executive Director at Jolt

Nonprofit Leader of the Year:

  • Shadia Igram, Co-Founder & Executive Director at Muslim Space

  • Carmen Llanes Pulido, Executive Director at Go Austin/Vamos Austin

  • Chas Moore, Executive Director at Austin Justice Coalition

  • Heidi Sloan, Genesis Gardens Program Director at Mobile Loaves & Fishes

  • Matt Stephenson, Executive Director & Co-Founder at Code2College

A special thank you to the 2019 Champions of Change Selection Committee: Lisa Graham, Mindy Gulati, Muna Hussaini, Cameron LaHaise, Christine McCarey, Ikechi Nwabuisi, Brion Oaks, Colette Pierce-Burnette, James Russell, Zoe Schlag, Eugene Sepulveda, Madge Vasquez and Johnathan Wojtewicz

2019 Sponsors

2019 Community Partners

Interested in becoming a 2020 sponsor?

View our sponsor deck here and in-kind sponsor deck here.

Please contact Monica Morales (monica@divinc.org or 512.699.1491) with any questions you may have. DivInc is a nonprofit 501c3 organization and all proceeds from DivInc’s Champions of Change will go directly to support the nonprofit's mission - to empower people of color and women entrepreneurs and help them build successful high growth businesses by providing founders with access to education, mentorship and vital networks.